Our board represents the research and technology communities and provides COS with valuable advice for meeting its mission.

Arthur Lupia - Chair

Hal R. Varian Professor of Political Science at the University of Michigan

Term: 2016-2019

Arthur Lupia is the Hal R. Varian Professor of Political Science at the University of Michigan and research professor at its Institute for Social Research. He examines how information and institutions affect policy and politics, with a focus on how people make decisions when they lack information. He draws from multiple scientific and philosophical disciplines and uses multiple research methods. His topics of expertise include information processing, persuasion, strategic communication, and civic competence. His books include The Democratic Dilemma: Can Citizens Learn What They Need to Know? (1998); Elements of Reason: Cognition, Choice, and the Bounds of Rationality (2000); and The Cambridge Handbook of Experimental Political Science (2011).

Alan G. Kraut - Vice Chair

Executive Director of the Psychological Clinical Science Accreditation System

Term: 2016-2018

Alan Kraut is the Executive Director of the Psychological Clinical Science Accreditation System (PCSAS). PCSAS began with one program in 2009 and now has accredited 30 of the best clinical programs in the United States and Canada. Kraut, who served as Executive Director of the Association for Psychological Science (APS) helped create PCSAS beginning in 1992 when APS organized Summit on the Future of Accreditation and first raised the possibility of a new accreditation system. Kraut and APS supported the Academy of Psychological Clinical Science (APCS) — an alliance that then directly created PCSAS.

Kraut has more than 30 years of experience as a science and research administrator, advocate, and opinion leader. He is recognized in Washington for his effectiveness in shaping national policy and he often is quoted both in the science press and more general media on science policy.

Brian Nosek (ex officio)

CO-founder, Executive Director - Center for Open Science

Term: 2016-2018

Brian Nosek is co-Founder and Executive Director of the Center for Open Science, which operates the Open Science Framework. COS is enabling open and reproducible research practices worldwide. Brian is also a Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Virginia. He received his Ph.D. from Yale University in 2002. He co-founded Project Implicit, an multi-university collaboration for research and education investigating implicit cognition--thoughts and feelings that occur outside of awareness or control. Brian investigates the gap between values and practices, such as when behavior is influenced by factors other than one's intentions and goals. Nosek applies this interest to improve the alignment between personal and organizational values and practices. In 2015, he was named one of Nature's 10 and to the Chronicle for Higher Education Influence list.

Jeff Spies (ex officio)

Co-founder, CTO - Center for Open Science

Term: 2016-2018

Jeff is the Chief Technology Officer and co-founder of the Center for Open Science, a non-profit technology company missioned to increase openness, integrity, and reproducibility of scholarly research. Jeff is also the co-lead of SHARE--an initiative by the Association of Research Libraries, the Association of American Universities, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, and COS to create a free, open dataset of research activity across the research lifecycle. Jeff has a Ph.D. in Quantitative Psychology from the University of Virginia where he now holds a visiting scholar position in the Department of Engineering and Society. His dissertation included the development of the Open Science Framework a free, open source scholarly commons that is now the flagship product of COS.